Danfo Wins Best Graphic Novel & Comic at the 2020 Nommo Awards

November 1, 20203 min read

Danfo, published by TAG Comics was announced as the winner of the Best Graphic Novel & Comic African Speculative Fiction Society’s Nommo Awards.

This was announced in a YouTube stream as part of the Ake Literary & Arts Festival. The announcement was made by Setor Fiadzigbey, a past winner of the award (with Lake of Tears).

It emerged emerged as the overall winner after being shortlisted along with Welcome to Dead World, Captain South Africa (Bill Masuku), Sanu (Charles Sentongo), Beast From Venus (Salim Busuru, Kiprop Kimutai), Hawi (Beserrat Debebe), Kami (Mika Hirwa) and Nani (Ziki Nelson, Jason Lamy).

About Danfo

Danfo wins Nommo Awards for Best Comic/Graphic Novel by Africans

Danfo tells the story of Emeka, a naive and kindhearted but weak and struggling Danfo driver in Lagos, Nigeria, who gains the blessing and protection of the Irawo Mejo. The Irawo Mejo are 9 ancient and powerful beings who hold the balance of the universe in their hands. Emeka loses two of these beings to dishonest people, who will stop at nothing to gain control over them.

Far off the coast of Lagos, a worldwide organization continues its hunt for the Irawo Mejo for their own nefarious desires. Will Emeka gain the strength to command these beings, ward off his pursuers and protect the world? (Read our Squid CoW review on Danfo by TAG Comics).

Congrats to Morakinyo Araoye, Steven Akinyemim, Ogim Ekpezu and the TAG Comics team for the win.

Watch the announcement and the winners’ reactions below. Read the comic here.

About Nommos

Nommo Awards logo

Every year, the Nommo Awards for speculative fiction highlights and rewards words of speculative fiction by Africans. This covers short stories, novellas, novels and our favorite, graphic novels and comics. The awards, now in its fourth year is organized by the African Speculative Fiction Society (ASFS) and awards up to $1,000 in the graphic novel category.

The awards, now in its fourth year is organized by the African Speculative Fiction Society (ASFS) and awards up to $1,000 in the graphic novel category. This prize money is made possible by Tom Ilube, who has been the benefactor for the Nommo Awards since it started. 

Previous Nommo awards winners for comics and graphic novels include:

  • 2019 – Shuri: The Search for Black Panther (Nnedi Okorafor and Leonardo Romero)
  • 2018 – Lake of Tears (Kobina Ofei and Setor Fiadzigbey)
  • 2017 – Chimurenga’s ‘Chronic: The Corpse Exhibition and Older Graphic Stories’ – Chronic no. 3 (Various writers and artists. Edited by Ntone Edjabe)

What's your rating?🔥 or 💩

0 People voted this article. 0 Upvotes - 0 Downvotes.

What's Your Reaction?


What do you think?

Show comments / Leave a comment

Leave a Reply